Sal’s Chilean Style Hot Dogs

I’m actually well known for this with my friends. I saw it on a Food Network show, I don’t remember which one. It looked tasty and I filed it away for future use.

The very next weekend, I was at a friend’s son’s birthday. After grabbing a plate of food, I realized that I had all the ingredients for a modified version of the hot dog I had seen. After piling everything together I took my first bite.

I experienced a nice, salty crunch followed by the cool, tangy, sweet taste of the slaw and then a snap and burst of meaty flavor. It was weiner synergy. (Are you getting excited?)

Ingredients:

Hot Dogs (Your favorite brand)

Hot Dog Buns (Your favorite brand)

Cole Slaw (I prefer tangy)

Catsup  (You can use ketchup if you prefer)

Lay’s Classic Chips or similar (Don’t use ruffled or thick chips)

I prefer steamed hot dogs for that extra snap. Just add some water to the pot, make sure it doesn’t go above the steamer, then bring to a boil.

Toss in your dogs, turn off the burner and cover.

They’ll be ready in about 5 mins or so. Otherwise, nuke, boil, or grill them.

Put the dog in the bun, add catsup and top with cole slaw.

You can vary the amounts to your liking. 

I usually put the ketchup under the slaw, but DD said you wouldn’t see it in the picture.


Finally, top with crushed potato chips… Don’t be shy now.



Mmm… Enjoy!


I think the original had mayo, catsup, cabbage and chips, so this is just my recollection.

I know it doesn’t make sense, but please try it! The whole really is greater than the sum of its parts.

8 Responses to Sal’s Chilean Style Hot Dogs

  1. Oddly enough, that looks absolutely delicious! I’m a huge cole slaw fan, so this is right up my alley. NOM.

  2. Old NFO says:

    Meh… I’ll stick with the old fashioned dog- Chili and Mustard🙂 (I’ve found a lot of places have NO idea how to make good cole slaw)

  3. Jay G. says:

    Sal’s weiners bring all the girls to his yard…

  4. Pingback: Chilean Style Hot Dogs « GBC Cookbook

Leave a Reply

