Blogorado II – Part Two

The next morning we all met up for breakfast and then got our gear and headed to the range.

I brought my dueling tree down and we got it set up. The next several hours were spent shooting steel plates and taking turns on the dueling tree. I lost a lot of duels, but tied some and even won a few. Considering the competition, I was fairly pleased.

Later, after lunch, we moved over to rifles. While others were out setting targets up out on the range, OldNFO gave me a hand making sure my straight-out-of-the-box M&P15 was lubed and good to go. Several of us had a go at a 1/2 sized target at 550 yds. With OldNFO spotting, he was able to get me on target and I nailed it on the third shot in winds up to 15 knots.

A brief rain shower cooled things off, and I was ready to pack it up when Ambulance Driver pulled his truck around and said he was going prairie dog hunting. Not wanting to miss the opportunity, I joined Ambulance Driver, Gay_Cynic and Vine as we tried to navigate the slickest road I have ever driven on in my life. Upon safely reaching our destination, we were rewarded with a Double Rainbow!

We set out stalking the prairie dogs and looking for targets of opportunity for the next couple of hours before sunset. I really enjoyed hanging out with these guys, and actually bagged my first prairie dog.

We returned in time for dinner and more great conversation. I was pretty beat and decided to  try to get to bed a little earlier than the night before. As I was heading out, FarmDad asked me if I would let Oleg use my M&P15 for a photo shoot the next afternoon.

We all met up for breakfast again in the morning and returned to the range to meet up with Oleg and I realized I was going to be in the photo shoot along with the M&P15. FarmMom and FarmDad drove us around the area scouting for a good location. The photo shoot took up the next couple of hours and it was time for me to head home.

I had a great time and you can’t imagine what a great bunch of people this is. Thanks FarmGirl, FarmMom and FarmDad for your generosity!

2 Responses to Blogorado II – Part Two

  1. Old NFO says:

    I should have gotten you on target a LOT sooner… My bad…😦

Leave a Reply

